Thread: Peter Hammill Remasters

Peter Hammill Remasters

I know everyone in these parts hates the VDGG remasters. I'm looking at getting his 1st solo album, "Fools Mate" Do I go for the Virgin or the remaster??? Thoughts???

Peter Hammill solo albums were remastered by himself, at about the same time when he did the VDGG albums. So they suffer from the same issues. Better go with the original CDs...
    Perspective Vortex - my new solo project available now at http://perspectivevortex.bandcamp.com
    Mahtrak Progressive Jazz Rock - www.mahtrak.com

I was listening to the Silent Corner remaster yesterday and it sounded fine to me. Actually, it sounded terrific - the music is a lot more layered than I remembered it.

I've got the remastered editions of the VDGG albums, and again, I think they sound fine to my ears.

I'm no audio expert, but I came away enjoying the music, so I'd say "result".

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Valen View Post
    I was listening to the Silent Corner remaster yesterday and it sounded fine to me. Actually, it sounded terrific - the music is a lot more layered than I remembered it.

I've got the remastered editions of the VDGG albums, and again, I think they sound fine to my ears.

I'm no audio expert, but I came away enjoying the music, so I'd say "result".
    I'm actually not familiar with what the issues were with the VDGG remasters. They sounded fine to me too, but I didn't have a lot to compare them with.

I think we tend to get a bit too hung up on the what is the "definitive" edition of an album, not helped by record companies endlessly reissuing the same albums with remasters of previous remasters, or not even bothering to disclose that it's the same remaster as before, with different packaging.

I jumped wholeheartedly on the remaster bandwagon years ago, but I'm kinda cooling off now. And it's such a toxic topic that you can't rely on other people's opinions.