Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Umphrey's McGee - Prog Rock/Jamband brings the heat

Umphrey's McGee - Prog Rock/Jamband brings the heat

I come from a metal and progressive rock background so when I first heard Umphrey's McGee I was immediately in love! The first tune I ever heard was a fantastic instrumental tune called Fussy Dutchman (I'm not good at adding audio/video to these posts, yet). Also one other song that made a giant impression was All In Time. Other amazing tunes I suggest: Utopian Fir, JaJunk, In the Kitchen, Wappy Sprayberry, Mantis. They have 100s of live shows you can download at archive.org so if you are in a research-y mood, do yourself a favor and check these guys out. Let me know what you think! They have 2 guitars, bass, drums, percussion, and keys, 4 of the 6 guys sing... many live shows are 2 sets and feature very big chunks of improvisation that segue between tunes. They never get noodley like the Grateful Dead, are more rhythm-based in their improv and sometimes enter the techno-sphere of jams so electronica/trance fans would also enjoy. If you every wondered what Dream Theater may sound like with double bass and big improv sections, this is your answer.

I would say that UM is the only "jam band" I like (I don't think of them as a jam band).

That said, I don't think I've ever heard anyone compare UM to DT in any way.
    "My choice early in life was either to be a piano player in a whorehouse or a politician, and to tell the truth, there's hardly any difference"

President Harry S. Truman

I first heard Umphreys McGee in about 2008, and - because I'm not a teenager - at the time I first heard them I hadn't had a "favourite band" for a good few years. After about the first six months of listening to them, I had to reinstitute my "favourite band" category, and they've been consistently that ever since.