Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Contralto singers in pop/rock/jazz

Contralto singers in pop/rock/jazz

I've always liked the sound of a deep, rich voice on female singers. I'm no expert on what type of a range would constitute a contralto voice, but I don't think there are a lot of them out there in pop/rock/jazz music. I got to thinking about it when I was listening to a performance by Diana Krall:

I have neither perfect nor relative pitch, but I was curious about the low notes she was hitting, and the sheet music bottoms out at D3. That is really deep for a female voice!

I think Cher would qualify as a contralto. Annie Lennox definitely would. Probably Linda Perry from 4 Non Blondes. Any others? Maybe Grace Slick? Amy Winehouse? Not sure about Adele -- she has a big, rich, booming voice, but her overall range (to my untrained ears) would seem to land her more in mezzo-soprano territory. Same with Pink -- she can hit some really low notes, but her natural range seems to be more mezzo.

Would love to see someone more conversant in vocal ranges than I am to chime in.

Contralto is the lowest female voice, then mezzo-soprano, then soprano, then soprano leggero, then soprano ultraleggero. I once sung with a contralto in a choir and she was, like many true contraltos, as low as the second-basses in the choir.

This might help, the first contralto sample starts at 10 seconds. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yyd3BXr_40w

Contralto is really low, I can't think of many current female singers in rock, pop, or jazz who sing that low, Toni Braxton is the only one that springs to mind.

Zarah Leander and Marlene Dietrich were true contraltos, both appeared in loads of German films.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dxGu5R3R_Lg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpAON4N_1ek

Many of the deeper voiced female singers today are actually mezzo-sopranos not contraltos.

Quote Originally Posted by PeterG View Post