Thread: Story of Legendary French Canadian band, Harmonium

Story of Legendary French Canadian band, Harmonium

I've been listening to this incredible band for many years and recently realized there are no documentaries on their story in English, so of course I went ahead and filled that gap and I hope I paid them the respect the deserve.

While researching this video I realized there is a ton more prog rock from Quebec but it seemed Harmonium had risen to the top. Does anyone here know anything about Beau Dommage, Les Seguin, or any other French Canadian Prog that you could recommend to me? Not sure where to start next!!

My favorite album by these guys is their second, but I can imagine most proggers prefer "L'heptade," I'd love to hear your opinion and I'd really appreciate your thoughts on my video!! Thanks guys!

https://youtu.be/6hNgSxkQByY

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    Thanks, I'll watch. I've had a hard time, somehow, finding the right versions of their top albums to listen to online, so links are welcome! Possibly your video will be of help (I Liked and Subscribed already, though I saved the video to Watch Later).

Quebecois Prog has been discussed at length around here over the years. The search engine should turn up a wealth of information for you.

Wow! Thank you guys both so much!

I really appreciate your liking and subscribing! Of course their albums have remastered versions and the version of "L'heptade" has a few extra minutes of music. That's the version that's on the streaming platforms.

And I will definitely delve deeper into these forums for some of my research and recommendations, thank you!

Member since March 2004 mozo-pg's Avatar
    I think you did a fine job with the video. If you like Gentle Giant, try Pollen. Excellent Quebecois prog. For decent avant, try Miriodor.
    What can this strange device be? When I touch it, it brings forth a sound (2112)

What an excellent band! Thanks for the great video