Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Do Streaming Service Libraries Compare For Users?

How Do Streaming Service Libraries Compare For Users?

My wife and I subscribe to Spotify and we've been generally quite happy with the service and the variety. As a Prog fan, I can often find quite a bit more than half of new releases of our kind of obscure music plus a good number of back catalog items. However, I don't like that two podcasters whose politics I disagree with are getting that much money, so I'm looking to switch.

In your experiences, are other major services (i.e. Apple, Amazon) comparable in catalog or are there subtle differences.
    Mongrel dog soils actor's feet

I've been using Apple Music for a few months. The library seems at least as complete as the other majors including most of the progressive music I prefer. Apple offers Lossless (up to 24/48), Hi-Res Lossless (up to 24/192), Dolby Atmos, and their "Spatialized Stereo" when using Air Pods Pro, which I thought was just a gimmick at first but actually sounds pretty good to my ears. They also allow you to create a playlist containing as many songs as you wish.

I'll look into Apple Music. Thanks for the review.
    Mongrel dog soils actor's feet

I usually avoid discussions about streaming services because of the criticisms subscribers receive regarding how little payment artists receive etc. Nevertheless in the interest of answering your question I'll confess that I subscribe to Amazon and Spotify and one thing you should know that's a big difference to me is that Spotify has gapless playback and Amazon does not. I've subscribed to Amazon for year or so and only recently did a Spotify trial and when I saw they had gapless playback I dropped Amazon effective next March when my year runs out. Amazon countered with free HD/Spatial which I'm checking out but gapless wins the day, haven't seen that much difference in music selection.

Anyway, didn't want you to assume Amazon has gapless.