Thread: RIP Ron Bushy

RIP Ron Bushy

All Things Must Pass spellbound's Avatar
    Sad news. Rest in peace, Ron.

So sorry to hear this. Iron Butterfly was my first concert: December 1969 in the band's hometown of San Diego. The concert was recorded for the Iron Butterfly Live album and was by some accounts the last gig by the classic lineup until they did a reunion tour in the '80s. I just pulled out the In-A-Gadda-Da Vida album for a listen a few days ago. Farewell Ron.
    Hurtleturtled Out of Heaven - an electronic music composition, on CD and vinyl
    https://michaelpdawson.bandcamp.com
    http://www.waysidemusic.com/Music-Pr...MCD-spc-7.aspx

In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida was probably the first album I bought with a side long epic. Thanks for the memories Ron.
    "Well my son, life is like a beanstalk, isn't it?"--Dalai Lama

I was a drummer at the time and spent hours & hours practicing the drum solo. Drove everyone within 400 yards mad.

All Things Must Pass spellbound's Avatar
    To quote someone I know re: Bushy's work on In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida- "The most famous drum solo ever and not tedious like those it inspired."

Some may disagree, but not those of us who went to a lot of rock concerts in the '70s. In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida was one of the first records I ever bought.

Quote Originally Posted by spellbound View Post
    In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida was one of the first records I ever bought.
    I can tell you exactly: it was the fifth album I ever owned.

Have their been better drum solos prior, NO...perhaps unless Moon the Loon had one that I'm unaware of. To my recollection (...and remember, my patriarch was very much immersed in the music scene back then), that was the spark that ignited a fire under a lot of drummers _____.
    Well done, good sir! RIP
    'The smell of strange colours are heard everywhere'- Threshold

Geez....when we were kids, we used to play the drum solo on our desks at school. That, and the intro to "We're an American Band"!