Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Steven Wilson- The Future Bites

Steven Wilson- The Future Bites

Since it is now officially out, here's a thread just about it in particular.....

Sort of amazed to see some of you falling for the "he went pop and left us prog folks" argument. I don't think he ever was really prog PROG, he just got lumped in there and ran with it. Pop has been an underlying thread through most of his work with PT and solo. He was bound to strip away the layers eventually and that is pretty much what this album seems to be. Now, if you miss the more muso bits of his recordings this one isn't going to work for you. Most likely. I just hear more "Steven music" though. I've been hearing Steven music for 20+ years now. He changes the backdrop from time to time, but certain elements remain- his voice and arranging choices. I can't get too worked up over what "box" this new one should be put in. He was never my prog savior, if you will. So I have no feelings of abandonment or whatever you might want to call it. What I find more telling at times are my friends who have heard his work and didn't connect with it, or in some cases even heard it, and are sort of grossed out and/or perplexed about the SW hype/fanboy machine from a distance.

Anyway, the future does bite, but that's not to say it can't still taste sweet at times. Keep your head up and keep reaching for the stars. There's a billion. See them all.

Is this considered the single?

Last edited by Sean; 02-01-2021 at 09:49 PM.

Death to false prog!
    Steve F.

www.waysidemusic.com
    www.cuneiformrecords.com

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Any time any one speaks to me about any musical project, the one absolute given is "it will not make big money". [tip of the hat to HK]

"Death to false 'support the scene' prog!"

please add 'imo' wherever you like, to avoid offending those easily offended.

What yardstick are ya using?

Prog by association.

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar