Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My prog nerd confession: Yours Is No Disgrace

My prog nerd confession: Yours Is No Disgrace

Possibly inspired by the 'mandela effect' thread, I have a couple things I need to get off my chest concerning this great tune:

1) Even though I've been listening to YIND for 45 years or so, until I saw someone quote the correct lyric recently I was 100% sure in my belief that the line was "shining flying purple bullfrog" ;

2) Until I bought the Progeny set and heard the track with different ears, prompting me to seek out the source material from which the lick is borrowed (theme from The Big Country), I always heard the opening riff as starting on the 'and' of 4, instead of the 'and' of 1. After so many years of hearing it that way I still struggle to turn it around to its proper place in the measure. I guess I always conveniently ignored the fact that the way I heard it caused it to not line up with the time signature once the groove starts!

There - I feel better. Anyone else have anything they'd like to confess?
    David
    Happy with what I have to be happy with.

I had the same issue with the '1' in that riff.

I've also heard the opening lick was borrowed from the theme song of a '60s BBC detective show called Gideon's Way.

https://youtu.be/3MUbOg2b6cw

I thought for 45 years that Supertramp was American.

I am currently 46.

Member since March 2004 mozo-pg's Avatar
    As a 12 year old, I thought Dylan's Tangled Up In Blue - was Tang Luck Blue. My sister politely told me the right song name. For Gabriel's San Jacinto - I kept hearing Silent Central (when it was released).
    Last edited by mozo-pg; 11-29-2020 at 07:28 PM.
    What can this strange device be? When I touch it, it brings forth a sound.

After 25 years, I finally discovered the opening verse section (when Peter starts singing "Along the forest road...") of "The Battle of Epping Forest" was in 7/8.
    "Arf." -- Frank Zappa, "Beauty Knows No Pain" (live version)