Thread: Learning to play leads on an acoustic guitar

Learning to play leads on an acoustic guitar

Anyone have any suggestions on where to go to learn how to play leads on acoustic guitar? I've been polishing up my skills on just playing chords for the past 2 years and I'm ready to start learning how to create some leads. Right now, its comical when I attempt it. Is there a method or approach that makes this quick and easy? I just need to be able to play some standard bluesy kind of licks for songs like "Wont get fooled again" or "Lights" by journey. No need for speed, just want to play something passible and go from there.

Links to an online place to learn would be helpful, but it needs to be simple. I'm not looking for a deep knowledge of music theory here, just to stop embarrassing myself.

Some short Youtube tutorials maybe, to get started?

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...es+lead+guitar
    My Progressive Workshop at http://soundcloud.com/hfxx

I would suggest playing along by ear. Do you know some basic scales, as in major, natural minor, pentatonic? Or a blues scale? Just
    a few to get started. I think it's really important to develop your ear by listening to guitarists you like and slowly play their licks.
    Starting with guitarists that on the simpler side would be good as well. How is your skill at picking up and down? That's vital.
    Also, use your pinky right from the get go. YouTube has lots of tutorials. Look for what works for you. There are programs that can
    slow down the song to make it easier to pick out the notes. I'm sure you'll get lots of good advice from other folks. As painful as it might
    be, recording yourself is helpful as well. You can hear what you like and don't like in your playing, and the improvement, which will come.
    Most importantly, have fun!

If you play an electric/acoustic, use 10 gauge strings for easier bending. Heavier strings are only necessary for more volume. Plugging in nullifies that issue.