Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone know what happened to Progarchives?

Anyone know what happened to Progarchives?

Haven't done a thread in a long time, so probably putting it in the wrong place, but I get a connection timed out error when I go there now and it appears the web server is no longer responding. I realize the site is controversial around here, but I find it a great quick reference guide when I'm trying to remember details about a band, album, line up, etc. Just curious if anyone knows if it's gone for good or what happened to it?

Banned
    I just accessed the site with no problem. It has a history of being overloaded and it goes down occasionally. I think most PE members view it as one valuable tool when researching artists CD's.

I am not an expert on this but someone talk about PA working with a old protocol http instead of https, meaning that browser doesn't allow you to go on an insecure site. From my end, I can access the site with Microsoft Edge but not Firefox and also when I received a email from one of the members of PA. The site is still working and the administrators know the issue, but if they can resolve this, I don't know. They have installed a donation banner Saturday, maybe they need money to fix these issue.

It’s working for me okay today, but over the weekend it was quirky . As mentioned above some browsers are better than others. Sometime it would time out or the fonts would be screwy.

By removing the s in the httpswww.progarchives, you can access the site

I've used it for years with no problem. I only go there to read reviews. But I like PE much better and enjoy putting in my two cents on the forum.
    Day dawns dark...it now numbers infinity.

Thanks guys, it was in fact the "https" that was keeping me from connecting. Removed the "s" and was able to get to the site.