Thread: NEO-PROG ALERT :: THE BARDIC DEPTHS

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar

NEO-PROG ALERT :: THE BARDIC DEPTHS

Attention neo-prog fans (and goodbye to non-neo-prog fans!): I just listened to a great new release, the self-titled debut album by UK band The Bardic Depths. This album is excellent neo-prog with a somewhat relaxed feel. The drummer plays a little loosely, which gives this a little more human feeling than sometimes comes through the widdly widdly. I'm not a musician so I'm not sure. but I think he's playing a litte behind the beat or something. The vocals too are good, but a little less smooth than some, and with a VERY slight bit of Mick Jones going on. Very slight, I don't want to scare anyone awy with that, this does sound primarily like neo-prog. The compositions are strong, the lyrics are pretty interesting and vaguely political in some way. Apparently there's a them but I haven't quite focused on it. War, death, something.

Anyway, it's a damned good album on first listen. Oh, and Peter Jones guests on saxophone, which is pretty good! I think I ordered it from their Bandcamp page, or possibly from Magenta's webstore. Anyway, there are a couple of FB groups for the band (one is smalled and for discussion of the music, etc.). I think think that in some way this band spawned from the Big Big Train world - maybe fans? Oh, for some reason the cover is ugly as hell. Oh well...

Here's a teaser I haven't watched yet! You might try some full songs on YouTube instead. Let me know what you think!

Old man of prog
    Thx for the tip JKL2000. Usually like your taste and it is indeed a winner. Purchased.

Quote Originally Posted by progmeister View Post
    Thx for the tip JKL2000. Usually like your taste and it is indeed a winner. Purchased.
    Great, you're welcome!

Old man of prog
    Quote Originally Posted by JKL2000 View Post
    Great, you're welcome!