Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Similar Female Voices

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar

Similar Female Voices

This morning I was listening to an interview with some female singer/songwriter, and when she started singing her voice sounded like so many others I'v heard. Like she was forcing it a little higher than it naturally would be, and adding more warbling than a natural vibrato would have. I'm not good at describing these things, but basically I feel like she sounded like so many of the female singer/songwriter types sound these days. Has anyone else noticed this? Are male voices just as similar and I'm not realizing it?

I just feel like there's a type of female singing voice I hear over and over, and I'm not really fond of it. I know they can't all be as unique as Kate Bush or Joni Mitchell, but... Know what I mean? It may of course also be what most people want these days, I don't know.

Quote Originally Posted by JKL2000 View Post
    This morning I was listening to an interview with some female singer/songwriter, and when she started singing her voice sounded like so many others I'v heard. Like she was forcing it a little higher than it naturally would be, and adding more warbling than a natural vibrato would have. I'm not good at describing these things, but basically I feel like she sounded like so many of the female singer/songwriter types sound these days. Has anyone else noticed this? Are male voices just as similar and I'm not realizing it?

I just feel like there's a type of female singing voice I hear over and over, and I'm not really fond of it. I know they can't all be as unique as Kate Bush or Joni Mitchell, but... Know what I mean? It may of course also be what most people want these days, I don't know.
    I think a lot of the Rap/Hip Hop ladies sound alike.
    The older I get, the better I was.

Since Adele hit it big, many, many other women started sounding like her.