Thread: Understanding and Translating Italian Prog

Understanding and Translating Italian Prog

People ask me – they say – “Dave, how come you like Italian Prog so much when you don’t understand or speak Italian?”
    Well, I do – I’m self-taught. In the beginning, it was somewhat difficult and because it’s so very important to understand the mostly vapid lyrics that most music delivers (excused are Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, Goblin, Galie, KISS, etc.) I have tasked myself to learn how to translate to understand the full meaning of what I’m listening to and the atmosphere associated.

A couple of caveats on my way to discovery: 1) All western languages are rooted from the same place, so there’s really not that much difference (except for the British – they invented the English language and we Americans had to fix it. Fly into Glasgow and get a taxi to your hotel. I dare you. And if you find yourself on the east side of London, God help you. As far as eastern US Georgia is concerned, all’yall make no sense whatsoever).

2) You can use languages you’ve learned in school to help along the way. Me, well I had 6 years of French and 6 years of Russian (not helping!) and 6 years of US Southern drawl (it’s warmer down here). I now live in Austin Texas, which is not as bad as Miami, but it may just as well be. There’s more Spanish spoken here than English – so I’m going to use that to my advantage!

Okay, let’s get started –
    Some of it shouldn’t be too much of a struggle, although you may find some surprises:

ITALIANO ENGLISH
    New Trolls: New Trolls
    Stormy Six: Stormy Six
    Darwin! (BMS album): Darwin!
    Formula 3: Formula Tray (see, you wouldn’t have known that unless you knew how it was pronounced – there’s some involvement with a science lab here)

Okay, let’s move onto more familiar territory:

PFM’s ‘Per un Amico’: ‘Per a friend’ (remember, ‘amigo’.)
    Darwin!: Darwin!
    Storia di un Minuto: Story of the Minute
    Ys: Yes