Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: R.I.P. Airplane/Starship vocalist Marty Balin

R.I.P. Airplane/Starship vocalist Marty Balin

Sad to hear this - was 76. RIP Marty.

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/m...ead-76-730912/

This one really hurts here. I saw JA 8 times over the years and even talked to Marty outside the Cafe A Go Go in 1967. I even covered both "Today" and "It's No Secret" acoustically as a folkie.

RIP to one of my favorites (until Miracles).
    Last edited by progeezer; 09-28-2018 at 09:04 PM.
    "My choice early in life was either to be a piano player in a whorehouse or a politician, and to tell the truth, there's hardly any difference"

President Harry S. Truman

Wasn't he actually the guy formed Jefferson Airplane in the first place? I remember reading an article where he said he walked up to Skip Spence and said "You're going to be my drummer", and Spence said to him "I'm not a drummer, I'm a guitarist!" and Marty said "No, man! I got a vibe about you, you're gonna be my drummer", which is how Skip ended up in the first Airplane lineup (before joining Moby Grape).

RIP. A big one.
    "The White Zone is for loading and unloading only. If you got to load or unload go to the White Zone!"

Damn. RIP Marty. Without Marty Balin there is no Airplane. Damn. RIP.

Quote Originally Posted by GuitarGeek View Post
    Wasn't he actually the guy formed Jefferson Airplane in the first place? I remember reading an article where he said he walked up to Skip Spence and said "You're going to be my drummer", and Spence said to him "I'm not a drummer, I'm a guitarist!" and Marty said "No, man! I got a vibe about you, you're gonna be my drummer", which is how Skip ended up in the first Airplane lineup (before joining Moby Grape).
    YUP!
    "My choice early in life was either to be a piano player in a whorehouse or a politician, and to tell the truth, there's hardly any difference"

President Harry S. Truman

All Things Must Pass spellbound's Avatar