Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Police

The Police

File under: Better late than never

It only took me 24 years, but I finally got Message In A Box, the boxset of the (supposed) complete recordings of The Police (Wikipedia goes into detail about what's missing from the set). Like most rock music fans my age, I have some familiarity with most of their singles, and a smattering of album tracks, thanks to MTV playing them like they were the Beatles or something in the early 80's. I had Zenyatta Mondata as a teenager and I have that ridiculous star/badge shaped picture disc single they put out of Don't Stand So Close To Me b/w De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da. Also, I remember borrowing Reggatta De Blanc from the library somewhere in there, because I remember Stewart's "The other ones are complete bullshit" intro on Any Other Day.

But this is my first time really hearing most of their catalog. I didn't even realize that instrumental they played in the middle of the live arrangement of Can't Stand Losing You had a title (apparently, I only listened to side two of Reggatta De Blanc when I borrowed it from the library)!

Really enjoying listening to this set. I never really thought about it, but The Police were only together for for about 5 or 6 years, really. The original lineup recorded their first single in February 77 (having only formed a month or two prior) and Synchronicity came out in June 83 (so says Wikipedia). It's amazing how much music they got done in that period of time.

Anyone ever heard the Strontium 90 recording? I've alwyas been curious to hear that, but wasn't smart enough to pick it up when it was released back in the mid 90's, and I imagine it's probably out of print now.