Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: PE doesn't like this...

  1. #1
    Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Westchester, NY
    Posts
    11,522

    PE doesn't like this...

    I've noticed if I put a dash between words, with spaces before and after the dash, like this: I'm going to use a dash - there that was a dash

    PE doesn't display the whole post when I try to edit it or quote it. It cuts off everything after the dash, or maybe before the dash.

    Duncan, just wondering, what does that mean to the PE code. A dash with a space before and after it, or maybe it's a comma followed by a space, a dash, and another space?
    "Actually, throughout my life, my two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart...not smart, but genius....and a very stable genius at that!"

  2. #2
    Parrots ripped my flesh Dave (in MA)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    4209′30″N 7108′43″W
    Posts
    3,916
    - - - - - -
    Test
    - - - - - -
    - - - - - -
    Test
    - - - - - -

    Edited. ABC - def. OK

    Works for me, in Chrome on Android in desktop mode.

  3. #3
    Member Zeuhlmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    5,440
    - a - b - c - d - e -
    - - - - - -
    , a , b , c , d , e ,

    Windows 10, Firefox

  4. #4
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Quote Originally Posted by JKL2000 View Post
    ...
    PE doesn't display the whole post when I try to edit it or quote it
    ...
    I've never seen that, but will test it...

    Either way, if it's a system bug, it isn't something we can fix. (Actually we can, but we won't - because then upgrades or maintenance become impossible.)
    Regards,

    Duncan

  5. #5
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    test - test - test
    Last edited by Duncan Glenday; 10-25-2016 at 06:52 PM. Reason: Tested the edit - Firefox & Chrome
    Regards,

    Duncan

  6. #6
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    test - test - test
    Quoted
    Regards,

    Duncan

  7. #7
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Looks okay to me on Firefox
    Regards,

    Duncan

  8. #8
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    test - test - test
    Quoted in Google Chrome
    Regards,

    Duncan

  9. #9
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Works in Chrome too
    Regards,

    Duncan

  10. #10
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    test - test - test
    Quoting in Micro$oft internet Explorer
    Regards,

    Duncan

  11. #11
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,229
    Works okay on IE too
    Regards,

    Duncan

  12. #12
    Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Westchester, NY
    Posts
    11,522
    Hmm, I've seen it several times recently and the quote always cuts off after a space dash space.

    I'll keep an eye on it. I'm using Firefox 49.0.2
    "Actually, throughout my life, my two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart...not smart, but genius....and a very stable genius at that!"

  13. #13
    Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Westchester, NY
    Posts
    11,522
    Still happening to me all the time!

    I'm using IE 11 now, I tried Chrome and it doesn't happen there. It's amazing how often I use a dash between two spaces in the first sentence of a reply. I'll try to use Chrome, I've also started using two dashes instead of one, I think that works.
    "Actually, throughout my life, my two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart...not smart, but genius....and a very stable genius at that!"

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    800kpc from home
    Posts
    196
    Cure - stop using dashes.

    Problem solved

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •