Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Phil Collins would have quit Genesis for The Who!

Phil Collins would have quit Genesis for The Who!

If true at least The Who would have had a decent drummer.

Go ahead have at me, but Moon sucked.

Altho I always maintained he was the perfect drummer for the band.DtB

I'm no musician but I understand he was useless at keeping time. But, hell, he is entertaining to listen to....

An old story. This was mentioned in Chapter And Verse, about 10 years ago. It would also have been in that late 70s time where Genesis were sort of up in the air anyway, due to Phil's marital problems.

On a technical level it could be argued that Keith Moon is far from perfect. But he was the perfect drummer for that band, I just love his all-over-the-drumkit playing on their records, and Kenney Jones' by-the-book timekeeping was wrong IMHO.

Moon is my favourite drummer of all time! Horses for courses...

Quote Originally Posted by JJ88 View Post
    It would also have been in that late 70s time where Genesis were sort of up in the air anyway, due to Phil's marital problems.
    That would make sense. Genesis were in the wilderness (so to speak) after "And Then There Were Three." Phil's aforementioned marital problems combined with a gruelling American tour, plus Banks and Rutherford (not to mention Collins) being at a low creative ebb would have made quitting the band for a more exciting option viable. What would have been interesting is whether or not Collins would have charged Townshend up any to keep the Who going. Collins' energy and vitality put Genesis back on its feet after Phillips' departure. Would he have been a go-getter, teamed up with Daltrey and Entwistle, and inspired Townshend to make the band his first priority again? It's a fascinating what-if.
    "Arf." -- Frank Zappa, "Beauty Knows No Pain" (live version)

But ultimately he would have just been a sideman, and he was just beginning to write more prolifically during this period.