Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jaco Pastorius - Documentary 2015

Banned

Jaco Pastorius - Documentary 2015

On Netflix streaming. The Who's Who of Jazz Fusion/Jazz are in this. You gotta see it, hear it.

Banned
    Jaco (2015)
    'JACO' tells the story of Jaco Pastorius, a self-taught, larger-than-life musician who changed the course of modern music. Never-before-seen archive u…

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2385115/

Banned
    And here's Joni before she lost it last year.

Quote Originally Posted by Firth View Post
    On Netflix streaming. The Who's Who of Jazz Fusion/Jazz are in this. You gotta see it, hear it.
    The first few times I watched this it was difficult to hold back the tears. Complex life. I think the musicians that knew him best said to be thankful for the brief time he was around. It has been nearly 30 years since his exit but I am still sad he's not around anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by Dave View Post
    The first few times I watched this it was difficult to hold back the tears. Complex life. I think the musicians that knew him best said to be thankful for the brief time he was around. It has been nearly 30 years since his exit but I am still sad he's not around anymore.
    X2. Heartbreaking story. Brilliant player
    Whose light burned out so quickly and tragically.

Banned
    Thanks for the heads up Firth - I'll check it out. I fully agree with the sentiments expressed. A brilliant and intuitive musician.

You can read my review of it, from when it was released last year, here, along with two other timely reminders of just how much we lost when Jaco passed at such a young age.

What was great was that, from the opening interview with Jerry Jemmott, where the Aretha Franklin (amongst others) bassist says, essentially, "you've changed the face of the electric bass, you've become a composer of significance....how do you feel about all that?"