Thread: Mahavishnu orchestra "Birds of fire" SACD sound quality

Mahavishnu orchestra "Birds of fire" SACD sound quality

I just discovered that there is an SACD version of this great album. I'll never forget the first time I heard it when it was initially released back in the early 70's. I was a freshman in high school on Long Island and an older classmate brought to school what I would call the first version of the boom box. It was a portable 8 track player with 2 speakers for stereo sound with Birds of fire playing. I immediately became a fan as I was already into the classic prog acts but never heard anything like this before.

I am a big fan of SACD and 5.1 and have no problem spending the money to buy it but only if it's excellent quality and a significant difference from the CD. Can anyone advise or comment on the quality of this version.

http://www.cduniverse.com/productinf...53&style=music

Bought it from Amazon.ca for 18.99 Canadian.Clean,crisp sound with (finally)very prominent bass lines. Worth every penny,best version of this monster I ever heard.Buy it!

Thanks that's exactly was I was hoping to hear.

The SACD Stereo layer sounds incredible but I wasn't too enamoured with the 4.0 mix (it is the original Quad mix that is on the multichannel layer, not a 5.1). Don't do MC (but have an DVD/SACD for high res stereo) but took it to a friend of mine who has a sweet set up and halfway through we switched to the Stereo layer and found that a much more satisfying listening experience.

I would be interested in hearing this dense, complex masterpiece of the early Prog era "un-muddied".
    Does one need a player that says SACD or is a Bluray player adequate?
    Why is it whenever someone mentions an artist that was clearly progressive (yet not the Symph weenie definition of Prog) do certain people feel compelled to snort "thats not Prog" like a whiny 5th grader?

Quote Originally Posted by MYSTERIOUS TRAVELLER View Post