Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Post Rock

Post Rock

Hi all ..

I thought I'd create this thread as a companion to the Godspeed thread. I'm new to post rock, but have so far collected albums from Godspeed, Talk Talk, and Sigur Ros. What else do I need? What are the classics of the genre? Any great post rock releases from this year?

From this year? Well, Caspain has a new one due out in a couple of weeks.

My own go-to list (du jour!) for post rock:

Mogwai - "Young Team" and "Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will." They are also a band to see live.
    Caspian - "Waking Season"
    Bark Psychosis - "Codename: Dustsucker"

Probably a few zillion more that I'm forgetting in the moment, but I'm sure others will be happy to chime in with their own suggestions

There was a prog/postrock hybrid band from a few years back called Magyar Posse as well...they got some very positive words from folks here on PE. They are disbanded now, but you may be able to track down some of their work.
    If you're actually reading this then chances are you already have my last album but if NOT and you're curious:
    https://battema.bandcamp.com/

Also, Ephemeral Sun: it's a thing and we like making things that might be your thing: https://ephemeralsun.bandcamp.com

I've heard some folks put God is an Astronaut in this category, and they really scratch an itch for me. But I'm a total n00b with the genre, so I don't know how they're looked at by those in the know.

This is a genre that I've always had interest in, but have never really had the time to devote proper attention to.
    Last edited by Scott Bails; 09-23-2015 at 08:55 AM.
    Music isn't about chops, or even about talent - it's about sound and the way that sound communicates to people. Mike Keneally

I would suggest Tortoise's "Millions Now Living on This Earth Will Never Die". Sorry, no time to explain why.
    ProgEars and other prog posters & prints: http://www.michaelphipps.net
    .*AWAKEN*. gentle
    MASS -touch-