Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 72

Thread: Is there a way to turn off Auto Save?

  1. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    Not to change the topic but I wish there was a way to turn of that "hover" feature. You know, where you hover your mouse pointer over the thread title and you see a preview of the first post? Damn I hate that. Why? Because the "preview" won't f***ing go away. You have to wait until it fades away on it's own. It's intrusive, annoying, and useless. And I bet I'm not the only person that thinks this. I'd bet a week's pay I'm not the only one . But it's a minor complaint. I can live with it. If I could turn it off I would, but I'm not gonna bother the admins to re-write code for something that minor.
    Thank goodness this feature is now here. It sucked not having it on the other site.

  2. #27
    Member Vic2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    La Florida
    Posts
    4,484
    I don't think the problem is the browser, I think it's that my computer is just slow. I'm still using a desktop with 512k of RAM. I've been meaning to upgrade the memory to the max for years but at this point the 'puter's about 5 years old (and still on Windows XP).

  3. #28
    General Miscreant Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I'm still using a desktop with 512k of RAM...(and still on Windows XP).
    XP should be fine, but what browser and version of it do you have installed? System specs for when XP was new don't apply to the minimum specs for applications on XP today.

    As well, many applications no longer properly support XP since Microsoft end-of-lifed the product and stopped support.

    The combination of the EOL operating system and (modern?) browser cramped in 512 (MB?) of RAM may be the source of many issues while browsing the interweb tubes. People don't even code web sites any longer to be compatible systems of from the XP era.

  4. #29
    Studmuffin Scott Bails's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Near Philly, PA
    Posts
    4,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I don't think the problem is the browser, I think it's that my computer is just slow. I'm still using a desktop with 512k of RAM. I've been meaning to upgrade the memory to the max for years but at this point the 'puter's about 5 years old (and still on Windows XP).
    Vic - I recommend that you upgrade your RAM.

    I'm using a computer that is 8-9 years old and also uses XP. But I have 4MB of RAM, and rarely have problems.

    Try this website: crucial.com

    They'll want you to download a program that will identify your computer and will recommend the type of memory that you need. It's not really expensive - about $50, I'd think.
    Music isn't about chops, or even about talent - it's about sound and the way that sound communicates to people. Mike Keneally

  5. #30
    Occipital Provocatee Plasmatopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Plague Sanctuary, Vermont
    Posts
    1,512
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Bails View Post
    But I have 4MB of RAM, and rarely have problems.
    Maybe that's because your computer doesn't even start up?

  6. #31
    Studmuffin Scott Bails's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Near Philly, PA
    Posts
    4,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Plasmatopia View Post
    Maybe that's because your computer doesn't even start up?

    D'oh!

    4GB of RAM!
    Music isn't about chops, or even about talent - it's about sound and the way that sound communicates to people. Mike Keneally

  7. #32
    Member Vic2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    La Florida
    Posts
    4,484
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    XP should be fine, but what browser and version of it do you have installed? System specs for when XP was new don't apply to the minimum specs for applications on XP today.

    As well, many applications no longer properly support XP since Microsoft end-of-lifed the product and stopped support.

    The combination of the EOL operating system and (modern?) browser cramped in 512 (MB?) of RAM may be the source of many issues while browsing the interweb tubes. People don't even code web sites any longer to be compatible systems of from the XP era.

    I'm using IE8. I did mean 512mb of RAM, btw. I've been meaning to upgrade the memory on this machine for a while but it still works okay. Eventually I'll just get another computer.

    Scott I'm familiar with Crucial. I've visited that site before.

  8. #33
    While typing a pretty lengthy PM last night, there was a power outage in my area. Fortunately I was able to recover the message due to the Auto-Save. Thank you Duncan & the Sean's for having the Auto Save feature on this version of PE. The only feature I miss from the old PE is the way to quote messages.

    I have noticed that after some inactivity, I get logged out automatically. Is there a setting so that does not happen?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I'm using IE8. I did mean 512mb of RAM, btw. I've been meaning to upgrade the memory on this machine for a while but it still works okay. Eventually I'll just get another computer.
    I have an XP based computer that I purchased in 2005 and it is still doing a pretty good job. It has 4GB of RAM. Although I have IE8, I barely use it since it works way slower on my PC than Firefox (Version 18). Depending if your XP is 32 bit or 64 bit version and the number of memory slots available, that will give you how much memory you could place on your PC. For a 32 bit version of XP the maximum amount of RAM memory you could use is 4Gb, although the computer will only display 3 or 3.5 GB being used. Not sure how much is the maximum amount of RAM for a 64 bit version.

  9. #34
    I bought my desktop a little before Windows 7 debuted and wanted XP to avoid Vista. Put in more memory to
    go to 4 GB limit. I'm still fine. Love Google Chrome, speedy and operates in a sandbox so is fairly safe.

  10. #35
    General Miscreant Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    Not sure how much is the maximum amount of RAM for a 64 bit version [of XP].
    That depends on the motherboard and BIOS.

    The physical limit for XP 64 bit is 128GB, which a desktop motherboard is never going to provide.

  11. #36
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    862
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    ...
    I have noticed that after some inactivity, I get logged out automatically. Is there a setting so that does not happen?
    ...
    When you log in - check the "Remember Me" box.

    If it still doesn't work - log out, delete your "progressiveears.org" cookie, and log in again - checking the "Remember Me" box. Should keep you in for some time...
    Regards,

    Duncan

  12. #37
    Member Vic2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    La Florida
    Posts
    4,484
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    I have an XP based computer that I purchased in 2005 and it is still doing a pretty good job. It has 4GB of RAM. Although I have IE8, I barely use it since it works way slower on my PC than Firefox (Version 18). Depending if your XP is 32 bit or 64 bit version and the number of memory slots available, that will give you how much memory you could place on your PC. For a 32 bit version of XP the maximum amount of RAM memory you could use is 4Gb, although the computer will only display 3 or 3.5 GB being used. Not sure how much is the maximum amount of RAM for a 64 bit version.
    I'm pretty sure its 32 bit. It's an old machine. I could upgrade to 3-4GB but at this point I'm better off just waiting until it thing takes a crap and then I'll just have to get another computer. I did manage to speed the computer up a bit by removing the old Symantec anti-virus program. All those anti-virus programs slow you down, especially if all you have is 512mb of RAM. The difference was unbelievable. Even all those free anti-virus programs are resource hogs. So screw it, I'm taking a risk I guess. But I don't do anything with this computer except visit this site and a couple others (no porn, or downloading games and crap).

  13. #38
    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I'm pretty sure its 32 bit. It's an old machine. I could upgrade to 3-4GB but at this point I'm better off just waiting until it thing takes a crap and then I'll just have to get another computer. I did manage to speed the computer up a bit by removing the old Symantec anti-virus program. All those anti-virus programs slow you down, especially if all you have is 512mb of RAM. The difference was unbelievable. Even all those free anti-virus programs are resource hogs. So screw it, I'm taking a risk I guess. But I don't do anything with this computer except visit this site and a couple others (no porn, or downloading games and crap).
    Adding 1GB of RAM would probably cost you less than $30 and will make a noticeable difference in the performance of your PC.

    Regarding riding commando on the web, I will strongly suggest against it, especially with an older operating system like XP. I would recommend getting Microsoft Essentials as your security suite. It is free, does not take that many resources as other security programs and it is very stable and effective.
    Last edited by enpdllp; 02-01-2013 at 06:31 AM.

  14. #39
    Moderator Duncan Glenday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    862
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    Adding 1GB of RAM would probably cost you less than $30 and will make a noticeable difference in the performance of your PC.

    Regarding riding commando on the web, I will strongly suggest against it, especially with an older operating system like XP. I would recommend getting Microsoft Essentials as your security suite. It is free, does not take that many resources as other security programs and it is very stable and effective.
    I endorse both points above.

    Adding RAM is the cheapest and most effective way of boosting PC performance.

    I use Avast antivirus, precisely because it has a very small footprint in memory and performance. I'm no longer very familiar with Micro$oft essentials, bit it's probably also worth a try...
    Regards,

    Duncan

  15. #40
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    I use Avast antivirus, precisely because it has a very small footprint in memory and performance. I'm no longer very familiar with Micro$oft essentials, bit it's probably also worth a try...
    Microsoft Essentials is a solid product. Considering they are also the makers of Windows XP, it probably gives them an edge on the vulnerabilities of that operating system. Another free antivirus to recommend is AVG.

  16. #41
    General Miscreant Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I'm pretty sure its 32 bit.
    Most likely. Very few XP machines sold as 64 bit on the OEM market, unless they were special purpose, and since your box has only 512MB of RAM, I suspect it wasn't anything "special".

    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I could upgrade to 3-4GB but at this point I'm better off just waiting until it thing takes a crap and then I'll just have to get another computer.
    This depends on your cash flow. If you can spend $30 - $50 on 2GB of RAM (more than enough for XP), but can't do ~$500 for a new PC, I recommend going for the RAM. This will help your computer process the larger amounts of data flowing inside web pages, today, and allow you to install a virus scanner again--XP is still a target for virus, trojans and rootkits, so AV tools are almost a requirement.

    If you have the ~$500, I'd recommend biting that bullet and getting a machine before you can no longer convince a store to give you a Win 7 machine. You may end up hating Win 8 with a passion and regret making the move too late.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vic2012 View Post
    I did manage to speed the computer up a bit by removing the old Symantec anti-virus program.
    Good move. Both Symantec and McAfee have been horrible resource hogs and ineffective antivirus scanners for almost 10 years, now.

    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    Microsoft Essentials[/COLOR][/URL] as your security suite. It is free, does not take that many resources as other security programs and it is very stable and effective.
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    Microsoft Essentials is a solid product. Considering they are also the makers of Windows XP, it probably gives them an edge on the vulnerabilities of that operating system.
    Unfortunately, MS Essentials' track record hasn't been very good, and I'm not even sure it works correctly under XP any longer. MS is probably no longer maintaining it for anything older than Vista. Even on Win 7 I would recommend at least supplementing it with an actual virus scanner.

    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    Another free antivirus to recommend is AVG.
    AVG has had a strange history. While it's free, I personlly don't like how the company develops the product. As well, they have been the source some very high profile security issues related to their anti virus product, and took an inordinate amount of time to respond to user to outcries before removing them. For this reason alone, I would avoid the company, but their AV product is nothing terribly special.

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    I use Avast antivirus, precisely because it has a very small footprint in memory and performance.
    This.

    Avast doesn't get enough recognition for what they do. They have always maintained an efficient product with both free and paid options. I have used it on my customers' and my own machines for years.

    While no AV product is perfect--and cannot be--Avast have responded rather timely to changing virus methodologies have a product that performs very well and efficiently.

    But, yes, you do need more than 512MB of RAM to run any of these things these days.

  17. #42
    Studmuffin Scott Bails's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Near Philly, PA
    Posts
    4,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Glenday View Post
    I endorse both points above.

    Adding RAM is the cheapest and most effective way of boosting PC performance.
    As do I.
    Music isn't about chops, or even about talent - it's about sound and the way that sound communicates to people. Mike Keneally

  18. #43
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    Avast doesn't get enough recognition for what they do. They have always maintained an efficient product with both free and paid options. I have used it on my customers' and my own machines for years.

    While no AV product is perfect--and cannot be--Avast have responded rather timely to changing virus methodologies have a product that performs very well and efficiently.
    Based on yours and Duncan's endorsement, I will have to check out Avast. MSE was working well on my XP based PC until recently. I had a hard drive crash and the place where I sent the computer to be repaired installed AVG instead of MSE. I did not noticed it until I got home. The tech assure me that AVG was a better product than MSE. I trusted him and left the "better" product. I have not had any issues with AVG so far.

    What is your take on Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster & SUPERAntiSpyware? Any of them worth having in addition to Avast?

  19. #44
    I recommend Malwarebytes and Superantispyware, great product with a really funky name. If you want Malwarebytes, install it now before a possible virus is on your computer, as you probably won't be able to install it at that point. I also use Spywareblaster, though not sure how effective this program is these days. I've used it for many years and haven't read anything about it for a long time. I also use Avast as my antivirus program. The best method for keeping your computer safe is common sense IMO. AVG is also a fine antivirus program.

  20. #45
    General Miscreant Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    The tech assure me that AVG was a better product than MSE.
    I do agree with that statement, but I have my issues with AVG, as I said above.

    Quote Originally Posted by enpdllp View Post
    What is your take on Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster & SUPERAntiSpyware? Any of them worth having in addition to Avast?
    Quote Originally Posted by rapidfirerob View Post
    I recommend Malwarebytes and Superantispyware, great product with a really funky name.
    I have not used either of these. I used to use Ad-Aware until it got bloated and strayed into some suspicious territory of its own.

    I use and recommend SpyBot Search and Destroy, but while this is a very good (and free) product, it is more manual than many of the others.

    Avast had also been adding certain malware signatures to their AV database, so there is some cross-over.

    I also recommend installing the free version of Zone Alarm firewall (although it has gotten a bit pestery with the upgrade pop-ups). One thing to note if you go this route is that you should install ZA before Avast. Avast will handle the co-existence better than the ZA installer.

  21. #46
    ALL ACCESS Gruno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dio, Alabama
    Posts
    1,887

    ok!

    Just get a Mac. Problems solved!

  22. #47
    General Miscreant Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gruno View Post
    Just get a Mac. Problems solved!
    If everyone took the easy way out of MS problems, the cheezy-poof-eating basement dwellers that cause the virus problems would just move their attention to MAC.

    But, in the mean time, if you can handle the MAC interface and Apple vendor lock-in with their app-store, it's not a bad move.

  23. #48
    ALL ACCESS Gruno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dio, Alabama
    Posts
    1,887

    Poof!

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    the cheezy-poof-eating basement dwellers that cause the virus problems
    Awesome description! I can definitely picture that!

  24. #49
    Member Jerjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    small town in ND
    Posts
    4,310
    Ccleaner is pretty good as well - it cleans up the registry files (which is not for the faint-hearted). I went to Webroot for anti-virus and it works great.
    I don't like country music, but I don't mean to denigrate those who do. And for the people who like country music, denigrate means 'put down.'- Bob Newhart

  25. #50
    Occipital Provocatee Plasmatopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Plague Sanctuary, Vermont
    Posts
    1,512
    I got a really good deal on Kaspersky anti-virus through Costco and I'm liking it very much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •