Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Contemporary Pop and Wedding/Corporate Party Bands

Contemporary Pop and Wedding/Corporate Party Bands

As some of you know by now, I'm a professional musician and through most of my career, the bulk of my income has been from playing in wedding/corporate party bands. I've done this for decades and though I always stayed involved in various jazz, prog, fusion and latin bands to stay sane and keep my passion for music alive and well, those bill paying gigs used to be kind of fun, especially when there was a cast of really good players involved. But that was then and this is now. I'm thinking about this today because last night I played with a "jobbing" band (that's what we call those kind of gigs in the Midwest USA) that I used to be in, but hadn't played with for over a dozen years. I was looking forward to it because there's some great players in that band, the leader/keyboard player is a nice guy with a cavalier attitude compared to most of those uptight leaders and I had fond memories of the (almost) decade when I was in that band. But I came home from the gig depressed and I'll tell you why.

I guess I need to preface this story with a little bit of history on this kind of work. Throughout the '80s and '90s, there was a LOT of it. There were weekends where I had five gigs; one on Friday, two on Saturday and two on Sunday. That's well over a grand for a three day work week, and with the cost of living in those days, I was doing fine, with a lot of time to pursue more artistic and creative musical endeavors. But starting around the new millennium, times started getting tougher for that kind of work; a trend that has consistently continued ever since. Part of it was the economy changing for the worse, part of it was the DJs gradually cutting into that work that once belonged almost exclusively to bands, but another part was the change in pop/dance music trends.