PDA

View Full Version : Chapman Stick - go for it?

Dave G
04-05-2013, 04:30 PM
after seeing Stick Men again I have really been thinking about giving the Chapman Stick a try...
I have been playing guitar for 20+ years and some bass along the way as well.
I am quite comfortable around the neck of a guitar and playing in different styles.
I am not super-sick but I do my thing and still play out - in the past few years mostly at Yoga studios with Indian musicians.
talking about a huge investment for the instrument and time to learn something completely new.
I would LOVE to incorporate the stick into my Indian fusion excursions and elsewhere.
I grew up listening to Tony Levin with KC/ABWH/PG etc and 80's KC really blowing my mind especially through the years.

has anyone here taken the plunge?
any advice from my proggy musician pals here?
I am not a big gear-head I have always focused more on listening and playing than equipment specs and such so the whole idea is a little intimidating.
I would also need to amp it and I am sure that is not cheap...

Mikhael
04-05-2013, 05:48 PM
Do you tap (like the Van Halen thing)? If you are comfortable with doing that, the learning curve will be less. As far as amplifying it, I think it matters as to which model you get (not familiar with current permutations of the instrument). I say that because I remember the bassist (stickist?) for ToE's stick had stereo outputs, so that you could run one side to a bass amp, and the other to a guitar amp, if you chose to go that direction. Generally, he ran his to a bass amp, which nowadays are usually full range amps, having a horn in them as well.

trurl
04-05-2013, 09:06 PM
The only thing that keeps me from trying one is affording the thing :D If you can I would say it's worth a shot! I do tend to think if one has any piano/keyboard experience at all the hand independence is probably a plus but I don't really know...

Lebofsky
04-05-2013, 09:38 PM