PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Tips and Lessons for a Beginner?

Jerjo
03-18-2013, 07:48 PM
I started a thread a few months ago on recommendations for a new guitar/amp for an absolute beginner. Because of that thread (and the advice from a couple friends), I decided to start with an acoustic guitar because a.) if this turned out to be a dismal failure I didn't end up spending money for a guitar and amp and b.) the acoustic would force me to really work on getting chords and fingerings to ring true whereas an electric cover up mistakes.

So I've been farting around with this new acoustic for a couple weeks now. At least four or five times a week I sit down and plunk out scales, and keep hitting major chords until I can make them sound right. No calluses yet, just pain. It's a bitch getting 55 year old fingers to respond the way I want them to but I keep hacking away at it, which scares the living shit out of our little dog. Any suggestions on exercises or something to strengthen my fingers, especially the last two? And any suggestions on places online to get lessons? I started with this place but maybe there's some others I don't know about.

http://guitar.about.com/library/blguitarlessonarchive.htm

Thebigdipper
03-19-2013, 04:50 AM
We're of a similar age, and I'm also beginning to learn a new instrument (Chapman Stick). After playing a guitar for 35+ years, it's odd and frustrating being a beginner again!

I'm not a guitar teacher, by the way, and I would always defer to someone who has studied the craft of empowering others if their advice contradicts mine...

I'd suggest you make sure you put a bit of focus into your practice sessions by limiting the variety of guitar styles you try to learn at this stage. Assuming you're playing right-handed, make a choice about how you're going to strike the strings with the right hand. Fingerstyle? Pick/plectrum? Thumbpick? Hybrid? Pick one and stick to it for a while.