View Full Version : Scam alert??

04-19-2017, 02:19 AM
I just received this message in my email, apparently from administrator@progressiveears.org via omega.urljet.com.

I think this is a phishing attempt. Can an admin confirm?

Title: Critical Security Vulnerability

Hello thedunno , There was recently a security vulnerability we found in our software. All users that visited within 24 months have been affected. It is known as HTML injections and have put a virus into you PC. We have updated and made a fix. This is a client to remove the affected code 100% and protect you from attacks like these.

This will be required for all members wanting to stay on the forum because of recent security issues.

This file has been scanned for viruses and there is no need to worry about it!

DOWNLOAD HERE>>> link removed
We are very sorry for the inconvenience but we will be happy to see it that you will come back to ProgressiveEars

04-19-2017, 02:23 AM
Oh I now see that a warning was already place in the main forum.

04-19-2017, 07:08 AM
I got it. Knew it was a scam as soon as I opened it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

04-19-2017, 09:19 AM
I got it. Knew it was a scam as soon as I opened it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Once I saw the link for the download, my BS meter got pegged.

04-19-2017, 10:35 AM
It's not a phishing scam, because the hackers already have our member information (thus they could email all members of this forum, addressing us by our user name). This site was already hacked, and the hackers used the member list to do a mailing to try and get people to download a virus.

04-19-2017, 10:04 PM
Got the same email and immediately came here to see what was up.