PDA

View Full Version : A Thread About COFFEE

Pages : [1] 2

arabicadabra
11-04-2012, 10:08 PM
Having been told that I am an artist when it comes to brewing coffee, I'm just curious: to those of you who are specialty coffee inclined, what do you LIKE a lot and do you drink that on a regular basis or settle for something less spectacular?

Hunnibee
11-04-2012, 10:18 PM
I prefer Colombian, a strong brewed coffe with a little kick. (I used to refer to "Juan Valdez" as my boyfriend, LOL!) At the grocery store, I usually choose Yuban's Dark Roast. They recently came out with a Pacific Coast blend which is pretty good, too. When the wallet is tight, I will buy Safeway's store brand Colombian, which is actually pretty good for generic.

Out on the town, I prefer Tully's or Peet's. I will try to find a local Mom and Pop coffee place in Portland, now that I've moved back. I try to avoid Starbucks like the plague, but sometimes, it can't be helped. I've been stuck in too many airports with Starbucks being the only option, and I simply MUST have my coffee!

I am no "coffee snob", though. I am pretty happy with anything strong and dark. No wimpy French Roast for me! (Not that there's anything wrong with France in general, of course!)

trurl
11-04-2012, 10:38 PM
I just bought a bag of Moon Pie coffee. I mean- Moon Pie coffee!!! You can't not buy Moon Pie coffee.

Moon Pie Coffee.

Duncan Glenday
11-04-2012, 11:29 PM
We had this conversation on the old site a few years ago - when you cocked a snoot at the fact that I confessed that I like Starbucks :p

LOL

I then asked you what coffee I should buy that is easily-obtainable and does not require a chef's degree to make. IIRC, the thread died and my question went unanswered.

Right now, I'm using a Keurig system at home purely for convenience. But the damned thing keeps breaking (had it erplaced under warranty 7 times - count them, seven), so I'm open to guidance...

Seven8
11-04-2012, 11:31 PM