Thread: Explanation of copyright law (alas, not about music)

Pendulumswingingdoomsday Rune Blackwings's Avatar

Explanation of copyright law (alas, not about music)

this guy has some very funny videos, such as his explanation of the EU
    "Alienated-so alien I go!"

This is a sticky, thorny subject. As a musician I think I'm perfectly fine with copyright lapsing after 25, 28 years or so. I do understand that if you've built an empire on characters you want to maintain ownership of them, though. The irony is that it would seem shorter copyright would actually stimulate more product and output. If you can't pimp the old stuff you gotta come up with new stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by trurl View Post
    If you can't pimp the old stuff you gotta come up with new stuff.
    Sure, but why allow others to pimp the old stuff? Not very long ago, there was no copyright protection for music. The more protection, the better for the artist, IMO.
    "The White Zone is for loading and unloading only. If you got to load or unload go to the White Zone!"

Pendulumswingingdoomsday Rune Blackwings's Avatar