Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: David Weigel book on Progressive Rock

David Weigel book on Progressive Rock

Forgive me if you have all known about this for months, but I'm just learning about it and didn't see any discussion here at PE. David Weigel from Slate, who did the wonderful, week-long Slate series on progressive rock, is writing a full-length book, and is taking a brief sabbatical for research and writing.

http://www.slate.com/blogs/weigel/20...ming_note.html

"Starting today and continuing through Dec. 9, I'm taking a short leave from this blog to work on a forthcoming book about progressive rock. Based on "Prog Spring," my 2012 series for Slate, it's going to be a narrative history of/argument for the music and its unappreciated role in pop. I've been working through more than a hundred interviews; many hundreds of pages of memoirs, music magazines, and reviews; old audio chats with musicians and producers. Point is, it takes time to churn this into the sort of book people might want to read, and I'll be off for a while as I hack through the first few miles of vines and branches."

Pretty cool news. I really enjoyed his "Prog Spring" series, so I'm interested in how the book will turn out.

Highly Evolved Orangutan JKL2000's Avatar
    That IS cool. I talked with him for a while at NEARfest and he was nice guy who really seemed to be just grokking that there was this whole "underground prog scene." Well, maybe it's more like an "aged prog fan scene."

Apparently, Weigel's book will be out in June. He's a great Twitter follow as well.

I like his writing. This might be an auto-buy.
    I don't like country music, but I don't mean to denigrate those who do. And for the people who like country music, denigrate means 'put down.'- Bob Newhart

https://www.amazon.com/Show-That-Nev.../dp/0393242250

The Show That Never Ends: The Rise and Fall of Prog Rock Hardcover – June 13, 2017
    by David Weigel (Author)

$17.67