Thread: Looking for help to achieve a certain guitar tone please.

Looking for help to achieve a certain guitar tone please.

hi all,

i'm a guitarist, and i'm looking to create a modern progressive rock tone such as used by steven wilson/porcupine tree (i'm think of the guitar solo tone on 'the start of something beautiful' from the album 'deadwing' - {i've got a good 'clean' tone' already without knowing what i'm doing}

i'd like to ask a few questions and hopefully i'll get some answers.

i'm returning to playing after many years away and only really have old pedals..here's the list:

* boss mega distortion MD2
    * boss metal zone MT2
    * boss compression/sustainer CS3
    * boss digital delay DD6
    * crybaby wah wah

* my main guitar is a Parker P42 with Parker pick-ups.

*i'm using an 80 watt marshall valve state combo.

Q: are a) pedals, b) amp, c) guitar or d) pick ups the most important element to recreate these tones?

Q: if you were to recommend just one distortion/fuzz/overdrive pedal that might get me a good deal of the way to achieving this sound what would it be?

Q: what would be the best pick -up to use in my guitar to get the long sustains i require?

Q) can you give me any other useful pointers to help me further such as suggestions for amp settings/pedal settings?

caveat: i'm unemployed and don't have the finances for a mesa boogie and a tc electronics rig but i do have a couple of hundred pounds to play around with courtesy of turning 50.

any help or suggestions is greatly and gratefully appreciated.

warmest regards.
    Last edited by peak experience; 04-04-2018 at 12:09 PM.