Thread: Anyone here using Har-Bal mastering software?

Anyone here using Har-Bal mastering software?

I have been using this software for about 5 years for "mastering" my tracks, and it is just amazing. It has a weird interface, which I have become very familiar with (they keep trying to get me to upgrade, but I love this old version so much, I dont respond)

Anyway, in a moment of boredom, I took Side 1 of Tales from Topographic oceans (revealing science of God...) and ran it through Har-Bal, and Holy crap! It sounds like a million bucks! I wish I could post it, because the difference is absolutely amazing. You can play it after listening to somethin with decent production, like the Ladder, and it sounds equally good. I hear ereythin so much clearer and the boxy sound is almost gone. The drums sound like drums... Just incredible!

So I am going to go on a mission to remaster all of Yes' bad sounding albums and run them through this, and update my digital versions to the new and improved sounds - and I think I'll have the best sounding collection of Yes, since Steve Wilson. From how well Revealing Science turned out, I dont think I'll have to buy the remix.

I was amazed at how much just using a tool like Har-bal made on that song. If anyone has used it, I'd like to hear what you think of it. I'm sure there are dozens of like products around that allow you to really optimize finished songs - I'd say maximize, but these things can be overdone (cough.. Vapor Trails.. cough)