Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Black Sabbath - Technical Ecstasy

Black Sabbath - Technical Ecstasy

One of the lesser-known albums of the original lineup, and it never seems to get its due IMO. Tracks like "Gypsy" and "You Won't Change Me" are mainstays in my Sabbath playlist. I'm curious as to how others view this one in this day and age.... it isn't one of the radio darlings and although I'm no Sabbath expert, I'm making the educated guess that they didn't play much of it live following this period. But I think it's got several great tracks on it...

Anyone else here a fan of this one?
    Interviewer of reprobate ne'er-do-well musicians of the long-haired rock n' roll persuasion at: www.velvetthunder.co.uk and former scribe at Classic Rock Society. Only vaguely aware of anything other than music.

*** Join me in the Garden of Delights for 3 hours of tune-spinning... every Saturday at 5pm EST on Deep Nuggets radio! www.deepnuggets.com ***

No, not really a fan. The first side of Sabotage was the last great Sabbath music released by the original band (I think they took a break after side 1, snorted an eight ball and drank a couple of fifths and then wandered in to complete side 2 - the differences are that dramatic to me). I remember when Technical Ecstasy came out, everyone pretty much knew Sabbath was done.
    "And your little sister's immaculate virginity wings away on the bony shoulders of a young horse named George who stole surreptitiously into her geography revision."

Occasional musical musings on https://darkelffile.blogspot.com/

I did not like this release for many years (was aghast when it was released) but several years back I played it again and then some more and I have grown to like it. Probably more a factor of realizing, until "13" was released surprisingly, that this was the last I would hear from this lineup, which was the music of my adolescence.