PDA

View Full Version : Easiest DAW Software for Beginners

Soc Prof
03-20-2013, 04:45 PM
I did my first recordings on a cassette 4-track. Then I graduated to a Fostex 8-track digital portastudio. Now I am ready to try the software approach. What do people recommend as an easy DAW for beginners?

At the moment, I am not interested in midi. I plan to record guitars + hardware effects, hardware synths and digital drums. I have experience using Audacity to make podcasts, but want to consider other programs.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

fictionmusic
03-21-2013, 01:07 AM
Every major platform has a little brother and they are all fairly easy to use. If you are on a PC then I'd say Reaper might not be a bad bet or Cubase lite or Sonar lite (I'm not sure of what their names are exactly but they are the smaller versions). Seriously though, if all you are doing is recording audio, then Audacity should do you fine.

If you're on a Mac, then Logic is the way to go. They have a smaller version of that too. Quite frankly, the small versions of these programs offer far more features than most people ever use so any of them should do you fine. You can get a lot of these bundled for free (not the mac though) with audio interfaces, so that might the best way to go.

Soc Prof
03-21-2013, 01:39 AM
Thanks. I'm on a PC. I might experiment with Audacity first (since it's free) before buying anything. I have a Focusrite interface that came with Abelton Live, which I think is more for looping than standard multitracking.

I noticed that the price has dropped (on Amazon at least) for Roland/Cakewalk's VS 20 console with Guitar Tracks 4. The Youtube videos made it look pretty straightforward.

trurl
03-21-2013, 09:18 AM